Back-to-school Blues

Sally gave me BLUE DRINK SHINE YES.

You can see I’m a little late posting this poem. But I’m sure it’ll work just as well for starting term 4 …

BACK-TO-SCHOOL BLUES

The school break is over.
It’s time to prepare,
re-set the alarm clocks,
start brushing my hair.

My hat smells quite musty,
my shoes need a shine.
I can’t find my jumper —
this one isn’t mine …

I’ve got those
Term 3 back-to-school blues.

What’s this in my backpack?
My lunchbox is black.
I think it’s gone mouldy and
my drink bottle’s cracked.

Back to boring old sandwiches,
apples, (no cake).
How many sleeps
’til next holiday break?

I’ve got those …
yes I’ve got those …
I’ve really got those
Term 3 back-to-school blues.

© REBECCA NEWMAN, 2017
Leave a Reply

