Sea secrets

Sally gave me these words: TOGETHER SEA TONGUE TO

In the end I decided not to fight the sea setting, so here’s what I have.

SEA SECRETS

Together they rise to the surface of the sea.
With salt on their tongues, their lips,
they sing
of treasure.
Where? Where?
Deep down there
in the dark and cold, where barnacles hold
to shipwrecks —
glass and shells
and pirate gold.

© Rebecca Newman, 2017

Read some of our earlier poems featuring the sea:

Sing by Sally Murphy

Summer Swim by Sally Murphy

Cottesloe Beach Skipping rhyme by Rebecca Newman

 

4 thoughts on “Sea secrets

    • Ha! … I found ‘tongue’ was pretty tricky. (It’s also SUCH A WEIRD WORD. If I stared at it for longer than 30 seconds I could feel my brain warp … )
      I like how we have two sea-themed poems in a row. Happy summer!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

