Hope

It’s been so long since Sally left words for me that you will have forgotten what the words were.

Here they are: HOPE SCULPTURE EDGY CONTEMPORARY.

And here’s the resulting poem, called ‘Hope.’ (I found this word combo the hardest Sally has given me. But I’m sure she would say that I deserved it after the Shakespearean tag I gave her earlier … )

HOPE

Where the shadow of the house meets the lavender pots
is a contemporary sculpture made from boots.
Out in the street someone calls, come on!
but the boys are edgy —
they’ve done this before.

They pull boots from the pile
and shake them
and hope the cobwebs are old.

© Rebecca Newman, 2016
Leave a Reply

